theinsurrectionist

Not the Church Twittering, but Twitter AS Church.

In Christianity, Church of God, Ecclesiology, Pop-Culture, theology on July 12, 2009 at 10:49 pm

FROM THE AMAZING ROBBLOG

Talk about a blog I don’t want to write.

There are several reasons for my hesitancy, not the least of which is the fact that as quickly as Social Media moves, Twitter could be obsolete by the time I finish this post.

The other reason is that in some form or another, this conversation has been taking place in some fashion for a while. The idea of the Church being involved in social media is not new, and I have no desire to rehash old territory. What I am interested however is the way in which the Church has NOT engaged in social media. At least not to any real effect.

This blog has always been pop-culture focused, and that the concept of social media is being discussed should come as no surprise. After all, it’s the rage. One can even get a job as a “social media expert”. (I prefer the term “social media architect” right, @ericwilbanks ?) There are several books on the subject of churches twittering, and I think that’s laudable in certain ways, but I am more interested in the people who are using the medium to speak to the medium…if you get my drift.

@christophermcgrath has been involved heavily with trying to generate conversation around the church and Twitter. He tweets daily on the subject in some way or another. Sometimes, I can almost feel the frustration oozing from the Tweets…”Any Churches Twittering? Anyone? Anyone?” (cricket, cricket) He uses the hashtag #churchonline for these posts and I think the implications are vast.

I think though that it is time to view this conversation in a different light. The question is not “should Churches use Twitter?” The answer to that question is easy. Yes. The question instead must be, “How is Twitter The Church?”

Anyone who takes a stroll through the scriptures will find that the Church has been called to operate within the real estate of the day. Not to use it frivolously, but rather to engrain itself within the culture. To exist within a realm that is being utilized by those who do not believe. Is it any wonder that evangelism in this day faces a dire struggle? Many (most?) of the people developing, commenting, existing, within new technology have been shunned and hurt by The Church. (sidenote: yes, the church is made up of people, and yes, people hurt people, and yes, and yes and blah blah blah…don’t get off point here.)

My point being that Church must exist where community exists, and not as a seperate entity within a greater whole, but as a completely integrated part of that whole.

Example… I have a friend who I will reference because I know he won’t mind.

In some ways, @dryan and I share a completely different set of life values. His lifestyle and mine are different in extreme ways. He is a good man. A sharp thinker and a forward member of the developing social media community. He has also been shunned and hurt by “The Church” in ways that are too numerous to count. Yet we coexist on Twitter within a organic, growing, global conversation. As social media grows, humanity will find that it is much easier to find common ground than was previously believed. And, though there may be some resistance to it, this is a GOOD thing. Connectivity is GOOD. Common ground is GOOD. Loving your neighbor is GOOD.

I am in no way saying that I would ever let my desire to find common ground with @dryan stop me from sharing my beliefs with him. He is fully aware of my life and my belief system in Jesus Christ. What I AM saying is that Churches do not need to tweet in order to build their Sunday morning services…they need to Tweet in order to connect with those who exist within the Twitterverse.

#churchonline

  1. I tried twitter for about 2 days and then stopped using it because I didn’t think people would care what I had for lunch nor do I particularly care about the details of anyone elses day. But, now that I’m on facebook all the time, I find myself checking the status updates numerous times per day to see what everyone is up to. So, I might try it again.

    But to your point, I agree. The “church” is woefully behind the curve when it comes to forming true relationships with this generation. For crying out loud, I did a survey of the COG’s in Maryland/Delaware and 70% of them did not even have websites! Good article….

  2. I love your thoughts here, I am a Twitterholic, I twitter at least once a day if not more, but I know that I have connected with non-christian people who live in my area, and want to connect with ‘local tweeters’ so I feel that even if I never actually meet them face to face, that my tweets about ministry, life, theology, and God connect to them.I like the title, moving ‘The Church’ into the Church 2.0 movement is going to be hard, who knows twitter might be dead in a month, but I doubt it!

  3. Troy…time to rethink that Twitter account. You have to think of Twitter as a stream of information that people dip in and out of, while Facebook is more static. While some people (I am guilty of this too, at times) do tweet what they had for lunch, the true value lies in value added content. An example would be that I tweeted a link to this article…

    SuperMatt…glad to have you here on the site. Hope you stick around. I actually do a lecture on Church 2.0 and “Open Source Theology” in University settings.

    And, by the way, you can follow me on Twitter @robalderman

Leave a comment